BVarsity Blog

Tuesday, Apr 15 2014 11:20 PM

Winter sports All-Area summary

  1. 1 of 1

    By Nick Ellis / Special to The Californian

    BHS' Gonzalo Rolon, left, and Bullard's Alex Yokley battle for the ball during first half action at Bakersfield High.

    click to expand click to collapse

The winter sports season officially came to an end Monday when the last of the BVarsity All-Area teams was published in The Californian. Here's a quick recap of the selections, with a reminder that you can see interviews with Braxton Huggins and C.J. West, the Boys and Girls Basketball Players of the Year, from last week's BVarsity Live show right here.

Now to the nitty-gritty:


Player of the Year: Braxton Huggins, sr, Mira Monte
There was lots of discussion in our office on this one. Huggins was undeniably one of Kern County's most talented player (and many coaches and scouts would tell you he was undeniably head and shoulders the best), but his team was 10-13 and just 1-7 in the South Yosemite League, hardly the area's toughest conference. But ultimately, we went with Huggins because he was third in the state scoring (32.2 points per game) with reasonably efficient shooting (46 percent from the floor, 37 percent from 3, 85 percent from the line) even though he was the only Lion that defenses had to be concerned with. It's possible that without Huggins (who missed two games with injury), Mira Monte goes winless or close to it. Christian Bayne, Kyle Ferreira and Rashad Jackson led their teams to league titles, but none had the type of carry-your-team performances in the playoffs that could have separated them. And in a year like that, Huggins was the choice.

Coach of the Year: Brian Dignan, Bakersfield Christian

G: Christian Bayne, sr, Stockdale
G: Kyle Ferreira, sr, Liberty
F: Rashad Jackson, sr, Garces
F: B.J. Shelton, sr, Bakersfield
C: Fatai Eke, sr, East
Util: Derek Check, sr, Centennial
Util: Isaiah Johnson, jr, Tehachapi

G: Isaac Clark, sr, Independence
G: Sheldon Croney, jr, Garces
F: Elray Coleman, sr, West
F: Robbie Purdy, jr, Stockdale
C: Richard Bivens, sr, Ridgeview
Util: Ryan Roodzant, sr, Bakersfield Christian
Util: Braylin Scott, jr, Liberty


Player of the Year: Celeste West, sr, Garces
Easy decision here. West was the best player in the county and was on the best team in the county. She averaged a double-double and combined for five steals and blocks per game, too, leading the Rams to a 31-4 record, the second Central Section title in program history and a state playoff berth.

Coach of the Year: Tod Denison, Garces

G: Kendyl Estes, sr, Shafter
G: Alyssa Gonzales, jr, Centennial
F: Niki Bragg, jr, Liberty
F: Olivia Espinoza, jr, Bakersfield Christian
C: Taylor Madden, soph, Centennial
Util: Chenoa Berumen, sr, Garces
Util: Rebecca Gallis, soph, Kern Valley

G: Alyssa Garcia, sr, Tehachapi
G: Zarhia McCollum, soph, Centennial
F: Zarreah Brown, jr, Ridgeview
F: Ashlee Cameron, sr, Garces
C: Ebony Sanders, soph, Independence
Util: Ariel Medina, sr, McFarland
Util: Kayla Scott, soph, Garces


Player of the Year: Gonzalo Rolon, Bakersfield
This could have gone several different ways, too. West and Wasco both had great seasons, and Chema Gonzalez at East scored a ton of goals for a good team. South High also had stars on offense (Denis Rivas) and defense (Jesus Barajas) that keyed the Rebels' surprising run to the Division III section title. But none had the combination of skill and production of Rolon, who has been invited to U.S. National Youth camps and was the most exciting player in the county for what was probably its best team.

Coach of the Year: Brian Smith, South

F: Chema Gonzalez, sr, East
F: Jorge Reyes, sr, Bakersfield
F: Denis Rivas, soph, South
M: Christian Canales, jr, Wasco
M: Colby Evans, jr, Bakersfield
M: Marshall Garcia, sr, West
M: Rudy Hernandez, sr, Golden Valley
M: Tyler Walsh, sr, Stockdale
D: Jesus Barajas, soph, South
D: Erik Jauergui, jr, Wasco
D: Calvin Laverty, sr, Liberty
D: David Martinez, sr, Independence
D: Aldo Portugal, sr, West
GK: Noah Stewart, sr, Frontier

F: Freddy Benitez, sr, Tehachapi
F: Edwin Bernal, jr, Foothill
F: Rey Hernandez, sr, West
F: Anthony Rodriguez, sr, Stockdale
M: Jacob Alatorre, jr, Highland
M: Jefferson Escobar, soph, South
M: Christian Garcia, soph, Ridgeview
M: Eduardo Gil, jr, Shafter
M: Adan Jauergui, Liberty
D: Maynor Alcaraz, sr, Golden Valley
D: Javier Fernandez, sr, Bakersfield
D: Joaquin Fonseca, sr, Foothill
D: Oswaldo Marquez, sr, Bakersfield
D: Adrian Mendoza, sr, Golden Valley
D: Roberto Sandoval, jr, McFarland
GK: Josh Epstien, sr, West
GK: Zack Satton, sr, Tehachapi


Co-Players of the Year: Lauren O'Connell, sr, Frontier, and Hannah Rehkopf-Wind, jr, Bakersfield Christian
To me, these were the standout candidates, and it was just too fitting to give them each a share of the honor. Rehkopf-Wind had an unbelievable season by any measurable standard, setting a section record with 82 goals. Eighty-two! But don't discount O'Connell, an elite defender who anchored a Titans defense that gave up no goals in 10 SWYL games and only four goals in all of 2014.

Coach of the Year: Max Bluemel, Frontier

F: Tala Haddad, sr, Stockdale
F: Lexie Kinney, sr, Liberty
F: Madison Todd, sr, Garces
M: Kristin Amarikwa, soph, Frontier
M: Morgan Collins, sr, Centennial
M: Erica Delgado, jr, Garces
M: Mackenzie Duerkson, sr, Liberty
M: Paige Jano, sr, Highland
M: Sabrina Miller, sr, Stockdale
M: Raegan Staib, jr, Bakersfield Christian
D: Arielle Joven, jr, Highland
D: Ashley Quintanilla, fr, East
D: Hannah Rogers, jr, Frontier
GK: Kate Hamilton, sr, Garces

F: Payton Armijo, soph, Highland
F: Cassandra Lopez, sr, McFarland
F: Danielle Vargas, sr, Highland
F: Julisa Vasquez, sr, Frontier
M: Claire Anspach, sr, Garces
M: Bethany Fitzsimmons, soph, Taft
M: Madison Jordan, soph, Bakersfield Christian
M: Anyssa Lopez, jr, East
M: Maddison Parks, jr, Centennial
D: Laney Carrasco, sr, Liberty
D: Mackayla Duerkson, soph, Liberty
D: Daisy Ramos, sr, McFarland
D: Victoria Womble, sr, Stockdale
GK: Tori Farris, sr, Stockdale


Wrestler of the Year: Bryce Martin, Bakersfield
If West was an easy choice, this was automatic. Martin was the area's only returning state medalist and was ranked in the nation's top 20 for most of the year at 170 pounds. He also finished as the area's top finisher in the state — second place. His only two losses came to Anthony Valencia of St. John Bosco, who is ranked third nationally and is one of the more impressive high school wrestlers you'll ever see. Martin, an Indiana signee, is right behind him.

Coach of the Year: Andy Varner/Anthony Box, Bakersfield

106 pounds: Navonte Demison, fr, Bakersfield
113: J.J. Figueroa, fr, Bakersfield
120: Carlos Herrera, jr, Bakersfield
126: Sean Nickell, sr, Bakersfield
132: Arik Onsurez, sr, Bakersfield
138: Josh Annis, jr, Bakersfield
145: Antonio Gutierrez, soph, Bakersfield
152: Andrew Lee, sr, Centennial
160: Jake Maas, sr, Liberty
182: Carlos Montejo, sr, Frontier
195: Josh Bailey, sr, Frontier
195: Jaccob Lopez, jr, Ridgeview
220: Travis Yarbrough, sr, Bakersfield
HWT: Mark Guerrero, sr, North

106: Matthew Bracamonte, soph, East
113: Fern Perez, jr, Foothill
120: Brock Welton, jr, Frontier
126: Josef Martin, soph, Stockdale
132: Fletcher Allen, sr, Tehachapi
138: Johnny Santore-Tovar, sr, Liberty
145: Michael Macias, jr, Wasco
152: Casper Lopez, sr, Wasco
160: Julio Fuentes, jr, Golden Valley
170: Jeremy Maas, fr, Liberty
182: Jose Robledo, sr, Wasco
195: Jacob Lucas, sr, North
220: Joseph Gonzalez, sr, Foothill
HWT: Jarrod Snyder, soph, Frontier

Have something to share? Comment on this story
Today's Daily Deal
Daily Deal Image
Kern Value Card
2 Kern Value Discount Membership Cards for $9
  • Value
  • Savings
  • Bought
Buy Now
What do you think?